2018 VIATEC Technology Awards Finalists Announced

Mia Maki named 2018 Technology Champion

April 10, 2018 (Victoria, BC) – The Victoria high-tech sector has announced the finalists for the 17th Annual VIATEC Technology Awards. Winners will be revealed at the gala on the evening of June 15th at the Royal Theatre. Moving venues is a first for the elaborate celebration and will allow an increase from the prior limit of 800 attendees to as many as 1400.

The awards celebrate the achievements of technology companies responsible for making Greater Victoria the fastest growing technology region in BC, as well as the leaders, creators and innovators that have driven the local tech sector to over $4 billion in annual sales and Victoria’s largest private industry.

After sifting through an outstanding record-breaking 181 nominations, 54 finalists (from 44 companies) have been selected for 11 award categories, and an additional 5 recipients were selected for some prestigious awards.

For the first time ever, VIATEC’s Member of the Year is going to two individuals instead of a company: Jim Hayhurst (Pretio Interactive) and Ian Chisholm (Roy Group), for their dedicated involvement in bringing F*ckUp Nights to Victoria and continuing to champion it.

StarFish Medical will receive the Community Champion award for their outstanding charity efforts throughout the year and Mia Maki (Quimper Consulting and University of Victoria), is receiving the Colin Lennox Award for Technology Champion.

“Mia has participated and supported our local tech community since 1993 and she deserves to be held up as an example of what a Technology Champion looks like,” explained Dan Gunn, VIATEC’s CEO.

“From being behind the scenes on some of Victoria’s largest private placements, to starting up the precursor to VIATEC’s CFO Roundtable, working her way up as CFO and COO of IVL Technologies and then starting her own consulting firm – Mia has shown determination, passion and longevity in Victoria’s tech community.”

“Not only has she worked in the tech community and consulted for some of Victoria’s most well known tech firms, but she has also shaped some of our community’s brightest minds and provided major opportunities while teaching Entrepreneurship at the University of Victoria,” continued Gunn. “If you give me an hour to talk about Mia Maki, it still won’t be enough time.”

Hannes Blum has been selected by the Capital Investment Network, as Angel of the Year. Last year’s Angel of the Year, Rasool Rayani added, “I have had the privilege of counting Hannes as a friend, collaborator and mentor. He is incredibly deserving of this recognition for the energy, capital and support he has provided to many start ups both as an Angel Investor and as a active member of Canada’s Entrepreneur community. Hannes’ integrity and commitment to supporting and challenging founders to meet their world changing goals is a unique and powerful contribution.”

Tickets for the gala event on June 15th at the Royal Theatre will go on sale to the general public soon.

The 2018 Finalists are:

Technology Company of the Year (50+ employees):
(Sponsored by: Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP)

  • Bambora
  • Checkfront
  • Vecima Networks

Technology Company of the Year (11-49 employees):

(Sponsored by: University of Victoria)

  • Flytographer
  • JSF Technologies
  • Kano
  • RaceRocks
  • VRX Ventures

Emerging Technology Company of the Year:

(Sponsored by: KPMG LLP)

  • Alta Bering Management Technology Consultants
  • Appreciation Engine
  • Certainty Software
  • EyeSpy Innovations
  • FreshWorks Studio
  • HYAS Infosec
  • LlamaZOO Interactive
  • TrichAnalytics

Startup of the Year:

(Sponsored by: Bambora)

  • Barnacle Systems
  • Creality Studio
  • Pani Energy
  • Purpose Five
  • VitaminLab
  • YogiTunes

Product of the Year:

(Sponsored by: RBC Commercial Financial Services)

  • Abeego Designs
  • Checkfront
  • Limbic Media
  • REinVR Real Estate in Virtual Reality
  • Telmediq

Innovative Excellence – Software or Service:

(Sponsored by: Grant Thornton LLP)

  • AmbientEase
  • Certn
  • Delta-X Research
  • LlamaZOO Interactive
  • Schneider Electric
  • Udutu

Innovative Excellence – Hardware:

(Sponsored by: BDC)

  • ASAsoft (Canada)
  • DreamCraft Attractions
  • Iris Dynamics
  • Latitude Technologies
  • SunTracker Technologies
  • Timberstone Tools

Leader of the Year:

(Sponsored by: Corporate Recruiters)

  • Valerie Foster, JSF Technologies
  • Anita Pawluk, RaceRocks
  • Nicole Smith, Flytographer

Emerging Leader of the Year:

(Sponsored by: Roy Group)

  • Brandon Wright, Barnacle Systems
  • Sarah Gulbrandsen, RingPartner
  • Logan Volkers, SaaSquatch

Team of the Year:

(Sponsored by: Royal Roads University)

  • Caorda
  • Quester Tangent
  • SaaSquatch
  • Schneider Electric
  • Youneeq

Employer of the Year:

(Sponsored by: Engaged HR)

  • Bambora
  • Enrollment Resources
  • Kano
  • Workday

The Colin Lennox Award for Technology Champion:

(Sponsored by: Reed Pope LLP)

  • Mia Maki, Quimper Consulting & University of Victoria

VIATEC Members of the Year:

(Sponsored by: Cox Taylor LLP)

  • Jim Hayhurst (Pretio Interactive) & Ian Chisholm (Roy Group)

Community Champion:

(Sponsored by: City of Victoria)

  • StarFish Medical

Angel of the Year:

(Selected by the Capital Investment Network, Sponsored by Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP)

  • Hannes Blum


VIATEC (Victoria Innovation, Advanced Technology and Entrepreneurship Council), started in 1989. Our mission is to serve as the one-stop hub that connects people, knowledge and resources to grow and promote the Greater Victoria technology sector (Victoria’s biggest industry). We work closely with our members to offer a variety of events, programs and services. In addition, VIATEC serves as the front door of the local tech sector and as its spokesperson. To better support local innovators, we acquired our own building (Fort Tectoria) where we offer flexible and affordable office space to emerging local companies along with a gathering/event space for local entrepreneurs. www.viatec.ca, www.forttectoria.ca